February 25, 2007

  •  

    I am doing so well!  I don't have to have Chemotherapy...only radiation.  I'm so relieved.  Coming right on the tail end of my recovery from surgery, we all got the most awful flu that we have ever had.  I had it for almost three weeks.  So while I was feeling great about the cancer outcome, I was knocked off my feet and didn't feel so good about life.  I'm finally getting better every day.

    Unfortunately, Cathy (DesertRose) went into kidney failure this last week and received her first dialysis on Thursday.  This has hit me very hard because she is so much more than my best friend: I consider her my sister.  I have been too sick to go and visit and make the drive there but maybe next weekend I will.  For those of you who know our eerie similarities, I think that we both count on each other to keep living.  So I feel like I'm holding her hand and pulling her forward now.  She may not know it....

    With all of this in my life, I have had to re-evaluate the way that I live...just as many do when they're faced with a life-threatening illness.   It made me face the ultimate, "Do I want to live?" question.  This may seem like an easy answer but life has been so hard for me for so long that I waver.  For now, I have decided that I WANT to live and I WILL live for the people that I love.  In time, I hope that it will be for me, too.

    Have you ever fallen in love with a bathtub?  I did this week.  Of course I can't buy it but if I were wealthy, THIS is the bathtub that I would have, soak in, and dream in.  It would probably be outside, too. 

    bathtub

     

Comments (6)

  • Hey Lady!  So good to hear from you!  I am glad you are finally feeling better too (we've been sick aroud here too, bleah!)  I did not know about Cathy!  She messaged me just a short while back, asking how we were etc. and I asked her the same when I replied--she did not reply back however.  That might have been when she got sick.  Getting older is a trip, eh?  I will remember her in my prayers.  I was thinking the other day about Cathy's pasture on the roof and dollheads, LOL! 

    That is a most cool tub... I don't want to know what it costs, hehe.  There is a show that comes on HGTV (Extreme Homes or something like that) and the people always have the coolest soak tubs.  This one guy had built a rest hut deep in the woods (think hobbit house) and in the center he had the most interesting soak tub, built of rocks he'd hauled in.  Then just Friday, I saw one that was made of stones and had a window above it where a fragrant trees branches poked in.  I've wanted an outdoor shower for years... now you make me want a tub out there as well.

    When you take radiation, find out what suppliments you need to to take to strengthen your bones since it weakens them... granted, she's a lot older than you, but my mom ended up with a broken coccyx (she didn't fall or anything) and osteoporosis as a result of radiation.  Your circumstances are different, but it never hurts to find out what you can do to strengthen your bones!  I know what you mean about the will to go on.  All of my recent 'surgeries' are emotional, but it ain't easy.  Sometimes I think maybe the only reason I go on is for others, but I guess that reason is good enough.  You remain in my thoughts and prayers, Dear One!

  • I'm so glad you are doing good. Your name has been mentioned in my prayers most every night since I found out about you. You and Teri both.
    That's a lot of why I try to hang on...for my grandbabies!

  • In the same time I am glad you are rid of this tumor without chemo and i am sorry for this darn flu . But now you are much better Lisa and seize life in full hands .

    Sorry for your friend . ( Desertrose )

    Love    Michel

    ps : I like the bathtub ! Rock !

  • Am missing you. Let us know how you're doing.  Cathy sounds so much better.  She is doing ok with the dialysis, as far as I know, of course I'm her mother. I haven't been able to go there yet.  We're waiting for the surgery.   I know that she needs that kidney so bad.  How is your treatments going?  Still praying for you both.  I have alot of faith. Love you 

  • How are you Lisa?

    Michel

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment